Agency Fees! Exhorbident

jaykerr

Hello All,

I am completely new to this having just rented out my flat via an letting agency.

I went to the agency today to receive the monies involved and complete the documentation.

Due to haste and not read the fine print I have now got worked up on the fees I see detailed in their documents.

As discussed from the outset the agency said they would take an 8% fees for finding me tenants or 10% for the management of the property.

I went with the 8% and feel I should be able to manage the property myself.

Having found tenants through the agency, they have drawrn up a 12 month contact with an option for the tenants to re-consider after 6 months. i.e get out of the contract at that point. All fair up to this point.

However the agency I realise now have taken 8% of the gross rental income I will receive for the first 6 months and have detailed in the contact they will receive a further 8% for as long as these tenants remain. This is where I get angry and frustrated as I cannot see how the agency can feel worthy of claiming 8% of the rental income for the forseeable future. I naively thought the 8 % would have been for the initial payments the tenants would make as a down payment.

I really cannot believe this to be standard practice and hence why I am writing this in the hope somebody can offer advice to me.

Yes I know the small print I should have read, but I am wondering whether there is a route such as a period after signing the contract which I can challenge these charges.

I really feel they are trying to take me to the cleaner due to my haste in having to get to work on time this morning.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Jay

Hi Jay

Finders fees vary from agent to agent ......

Some charge a fixed fee .....i use one that chatges my a flat rate of £150 per tenancy

another 1 weeks rent

another 2 weeks rent

some charge a months rent ...some charge more ......