When do I register for Self Ass.Tax

Questor

Hi Guys

I am a complete newby so go easy on me :-)

I normally pay Income Tax through PAYE and I am just about to let a property that I have been renovating for the last year. I have tenants ready to move in in April. I have received no income during the last year but I do have considerable expenses that I want to claim for.

Do I need to register now and declare no income and register the loss or should I wait until next year when I will have income to declare?

I tried phoning HMRC. I was told I could leave it till next year but the chap I got didn't fill me with confidence.

I have tenants ready to move in in April.

If thats on or after April 6th it will fall within the 2014 - 2015 tax year. Request the 'Land & Property' self assessment pages from HMRC after April 6th.

I have received no income during the last year but I do have considerable expenses that I want to claim for.

You may be under the misapprehension that you will be able to offset these expenses against income tax.....that is NOT likely to be the case. Your expenses are likely to be capital expenses & not revenue so you will only be able to offset them against CGT on sale of the property. If you list out the main expense headings I should be able to confirm wether they are revenue or capital.

Hi Richlist

The tenants move in on April 1st

The main bills are for:

Repairs to central heating, incl. new boiler

Electrical work to bring it up to standard for letting

Repairs to walls (plastering)

Replace worn bathroom fittings (Parts only)

Replace worn kitchen units (Parts only)

Replace damaged garden fence (Parts only)

Painting and decorating (Parts only)

Replace worn carpets

Council Tax

Water rates

Electric & Gas

What do you think?

Imagine there are two identical properties :

1. In OK condition sells for £100K

2. In need of serious renovation work sells for £70K & buyer then spends £20K renovating the property.