Final check for a new landlord

Jubilee

I am new to this. And not using a solicitor or agent and privately renting out. I have a mortgage. Have I covered everything I need to do prior my tenant moving in. The house is unfurnished.

I have

-Checked her landlord reference, employers, passport and bank statements

- changed mortgage to an approved one for letting

- changed to landlord insurance

- done electric, gas, energy performance certificates

- served notice for ground 2 part1 schedule 2 of housing act1988 to her

- got the inventory

anything else? Thanks.

J

Here's my check list:.....they nearly all apply to you and some of them you haven't mentioned....No 18 is extemely important..

The most important thing that any potential landlord can do is choose their tenants very very carefully.....have you ?

1. Get Referencies.....bank, employer and previous landlord.

2. Take out rent guarantee insurance.....its not expensive.

3. Get a home owning guarantor. Carry out reference checks on the guarantor. Give the guarantor a copy of the AST. Make sure the guarantor document is drawn up as a deed.

4. Don't let to people with pets or children......the risk of them giving you problems are big.

5. Don’t let to anyone under 18 (minors). Draw up your own limits….I prefer nobody under 25.

6. Don't let to smokers........you won't get rid of the smell.

7. Don’t do Company lets.

8. Don’t let to anyone on Housing Benefits.

8a. If you do choose to let to applicants on Housing Benefit CHECK that your mortgage & freeholder (if your property is leasehold) allows it.

9. Don't let to anyone who isn't working full time.

10. Inspect properties every 3 months.

11. Only let initially on a 6 month AST.....that way you can both part company after 6 months if you don't get on.

12. Use a reputable Lettings Agent OR one who has been recommended OR do it yourself (only if you know what to do).