Help needed

Littlemo

Hi this is my first post and I think I have made a big mistake that I need help with! I am not a professional landlord but have let my property out whilst we have been working abroad. We now need to come back and wish to gain possession. We let it out using a letting agent on a let only basis. It was firstly let from April 2007 to March 2009 when the tenants decided to move out. The letting agent then re-let it from the 4th April 2009, again on a let only basis. They did the references and the AST which has now gone onto a periodic tenancy. Browsing on here for advice as to when I should issue a Section 21 notice, I realised that I should have got the deposit registered. At no time was I ever told this by the agent so I didn't know anything about it. I have now read that I cannot issue a Section 21, so how do I go about getting the tenant out as I need the house back to live in. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Mo,

When you let via the agent did he not tell you about protecting the deposit or try to get you to use his scheme?

Most agents want to know what you are going to do with the deposit before they will put tenants before you so you might be able to use this as your defence. Be prepared to pay 3X deposit to the tenant if it goes to court.

You don't say if tenant is not paying rent or you just want them to go? I suggest you write nicley to tenant giving 8 weeks notice as per your agreement and follow up with a phonecall to assess situation. You may be able to get them to leave amicably with just an full refund and not mentioning the deposit protection. Finding them alternative accommodation may also smooth things along ( if the tenant was a good one that is)

If that does not work try looking at a Section 8.

Cheers,

Mortitia

Hi Mo,

When you let via the agent did he not tell you about protecting the deposit or try to get you to use his scheme?