Information From Landlords

swarn66

Hi sorry to bother you all im new to being a landlord and have just in herited a few properties in northamptonshire and was wondering if anyone new of any good websites or papers to advertise my properties in at a cost effective price just had a qoute from the local paper for 1 inch by 1inch £55 for 2 weeks ? seems pricy also there doesnt seem to be any specific websites for this i know of gumtree and friday add but no go also have seen lettme.com but not to sure if if it will be any good

please help?

Hi there,

Depends what sort of property you are letting? Personally I find newsagents notice boards very effective for some of my lets in cheaper areas - I know what you mean about local papers being v. expensive - I think so too.

I think it is quite well recognised that RightMove is the industry leader online - have a look.

Cheers,

Mortitia

Hi

Being a LL is not easy and you have no experience, I would therefore suggest you consider using a letting agent on a tenant find only basis. Obviously one with a good reputation, they will do/advise on all the checks, certificates etc.

I'm not a letting agent and now just have a couple of properties that I manage myself, I have made a few (and costly) mistakes mainly due to trying to cut a few corners, my advice - don't go down that road.

In time you can do all this yourself but you are potentially opening yourself up for trouble as you have limited knowledge and that will cost you dearly in the long run.

Read through as many posts on this site as you can and you'll find plenty of troubles.

Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

cheers

Selkirk

When I started I used an agent on "find only". But after a while this became expensive (£350) and more recently I have used local papers.

Don't expect an agent to find a 'good' tenant, even with all the 'checks'. Be sure to interview the prospect yourself before commitment.