Deposit Dispute

bexjgates

Hi

I am fairly new to letting out my property as I'm a student now and just renting out while I'm studying.

Basically Ive been having some problems with tennants that took over my property in Feb turned out to be a nightmare fabricating problems in the flat that were either rectified or didnt exist. Then after 2 weeks said they wanted to move out. In honesty i was quite pleased as I new they were going to be a headache, so I told them fine and asked them to supply me with a date of leave in writing. They failed to do so, I asked again for a departure date so I could advertise and also informed them that I would need to view the flat to other prospective tennants during the day as I worked nights, they refused saying I could only come during the nights or weekends as their stuff was in the property. I left them for a while then again asked for a date as to when they would be leaving and they told me on that day they would be leaving and they wanted the deposit back that night. I explained that I would need to check the flat first before i even considered giving them it back. They left the flat and it was indeed in order however it did smell of smoke, additionally the flat was fully furnished when they got the flat and then asked for it all to be removed.

Because of all this, I had to advertise the flat for four weeks eventually taking £50 a month less to let it out, it stood empty for 6 weeks and cost over £100 in advertising fees. I also had to deep clean it myself to get rid of the smell of smoke.

Most of our communication has been through texts, they asked for their deposit back several times but I didnt reply until i looked into the lease. I found this part

7.4 The Tenant agrees that its liability for the Rent and for the performance of

the Tenant's whole obligations under this Agreement shall subsist, unless

otherwise agreed by the Landlord in writing as continuing obligations

until the latest of the following dates: