Changing from consent to lease to buy to let

terricraw

Hi

After moving in with my partner I kept on my previous flat and have let it out since last June. I applied for consent to lease from my lender which was approved. My mortgage stands at £32,000 and my flat was recently valued at £70,000. I wish to carry out work on my property and asked my lender for a loan in order to carry out this work which was refused on the grounds that I am letting it out. Would it be worthwhile to remortgage the flat as a buy to let in order to release some of the equity in it or should I just take out a normal bank loan to do this work. It seems rather silly given the equity in the property.

I am a newbie here so excuse my ignorance!

Thanks

hazle

Hi Hazle,

If it were me I would take the cheapest option.

A regular loan should be quite cheap at the moment whereas a Buy to Let mortgage will come with charges and fees. I've just done one with Nat West - the valuer was £235, set up fee £899 and solicitor charges on top of that +VAT.

Good Luck

Mortitia

Hold on a sec.

If you have a BTL mortgage you can claim on the interest part that you pay the lender, not so sure you can do this with a personal loan. Additionally, a BTL rate could possibly be cheaper than a personal loan.

If I was doing improvements I would try the lender for a top up rather than a remortgage (probably have exit fees), however, i would be relucant to remortgage unless I got a decent rate, remember the high fees they charge now too.

Why not have a chat with a local mortgage broker, some charge a fee some don't take your pick, but I'm sure you'll get some more options.

I agree with Mortitia, take the cheapest route - but find out what that is first.

cheers

Selkirk

As an aside, I read most posts but only reply when I think I've something to add, just to say then top stuff Preston!

Hi