problem tenant

littleblue

Can someone help. I am a resident landlord, and live in the ground floor flat. 6 weeks ago a lady moved into a first floor flat, paid 4 weeks rent upfront, but no deposit,, she said I would get that the following week. She has paid no more money, so now owes me 2 weeks rent plus deposit. She works from home, refuses to talk to me, and will not open her door, if I catch her outside she swears, at me and runs back into her flat. How can I evict her.

Does it make any difference to the rules because I live on the premises, or do I still have to go through the courts to get her out.

Thank you.

Hi

It might be worth you having a look at the answers to the "nightmare lodger" thread earlier on this website, although it does sound to me that there might be some important differences.

The following leaflet gives some excellent information on resident landlord lettings.

http://www.lbbd.gov.uk/6-living/housing/pr...tting-rooms.pdf

The first question for you to decide upon is whether in fact you will count as a resident landlord. In a nutshell, if the block is a purpose built block of separate flats and all you share with the other residents is hallways and accessways, then you wont be classified as resident and your tenants will almost certainly be ordinary assured shorthold tenants.

If however, the different flats were created by converting a property which was previously just one residence - regardless of when that happened, before or after you bought it - then you will be counted as resident. In this case, the tenant has less security than an assured shorthold tenant.

And following on from this, if you share some living accommodation with the other tenant - bathroom, kitchen or living room, but it doesnt need to be all three - then you will be resident and the tenant will be counted as an excluded tenant. In this case, the tenant has less security and the procedures you need to go through to evict are quite a bit simpler.