BUY TO LET AND TAX, TAX IS A BIG COST!!!!

pisstake

Hi

I am thinking of buying a property and renting it out as furnished

The property costs £80000. the down payment will be £20000 and £60000 will be a loan. I have calculated In year one my tax liability will be

Based On

Rent (£500*12)= £ 6000

Interest payment £ 1883

Insuarance 300

boiler car 156

wear and tear (10% of rent) 600

rapairs 250

personal expenses: 150

total profit 2661

tax 25% 665

based on the the above calculation i would be paying around 650 in tax per year this seems quite a lot. Is their any way of reducing this figure considerably without getting an interest only mortgage?

Does everyone else pay around £600 per property in tax?

is this a good investment?

thanks for all your help I am a newbie and would appreciate your advice and experience!smile.gifprogress.gifedit.gif

Hi

I am thinking of buying a property and renting it out as furnished

The property costs £80000. the down payment will be £20000 and £60000 will be a loan. I have calculated In year one my tax liability will be

Based On

Rent (£500*12)= £ 6000

Interest payment £ 1883

Insuarance 300

boiler car 156

wear and tear (10% of rent) 600

rapairs 250

personal expenses: 150

total profit 2661

tax 25% 665

based on the the above calculation i would be paying around 650 in tax per year this seems quite a lot. Is their any way of reducing this figure considerably without getting an interest only mortgage?

Does everyone else pay around £600 per property in tax?

is this a good investment?

thanks for all your help I am a newbie and would appreciate your advice and experience!smile.gifprogress.gifedit.gif

Is your £60000 loan a 25 year mortgage..?? It sounds to me like your 1883 interest is on the low side. I rekon a 60000 mortgage over 25 yrs would be around £400pcm with at least £300 of that being interest initially costing you double your assessment. I may be wrong as i am no expert..

Hi