Tenant left 1/2 way thru contract

kerryc

Hi,

I am new to the BTL industry. I recently let my 2 yr old flat to a Tenant, who at the time agreed if she went on a 12 month tenancy, we would drop rent by £45pcm. After 6 months the rent stopped coming and after 2 weeks of no rent and communication, she posted keys to Letting Agent, stating she no longer wishes to live there. So I was sort of pleased, as at least if she was not going to pay, at least she left.

However when I went to property, she completely trashed it...there were needles and other drug implements around the property, the wall were all marked, her Dog(did not know she had one) ripped a 3ftx3ft hole in my new lino in bathroom, etc etc etc. This devasted me, it is a newish property, and for someone to live in it and leave it such a way is unbelievable.

However my Question is, is she still liable for Utility bills, council tax and rent until I find a new tenant, as she signed for 12 months and left after 6 1/2. ( and also new lino & cleaning/restoration bills).

I would very much appreciate if someone could advise, as my agent does not seem that interested.

Many Thanks in advance

Kerry

I have her parents address and her employers(she is a youth worker...God help them!!!).

Hi Kerry,

Was this let under full mangement with the letting agent? If so you have been let down badly.

Did this 12 month AST have a six month break clause? Personally, in future, I would not fall for the 'reduced rent' mullarkey as you don't know if tenant will be any good and why should you want to reduce rent? Agree a sensible rent at the outset for 6 months, renewable if all goes well.

I suggest you read the meters and inform the utility companies and tell the council tax dept. that your tenant has done a runner and that the flat is empty. That is the end of that part.