Tax Question

CH1

I recently did a Tax-self assessment for the first time as I had an income from property. I had made a loss as its my first year. However, I have recently received a tax bill asking for tax to be paid on my savings as the Tax Office informed me I was classed as a 40% tax payer (as I'd received a lump sum payment from last employer). I thought I'd already paid tax on my savings as I'd get interest net but when I queried it they told me that's at 20% only and now I need to pay double that.

So my question is can the loss on the property (which is far greater than the amount of tax they want me to pay) on the net interest) gained from savings be offset against the loss?

The weird thing is if I hadn't done a self assessment I wouldn't have known that I had to pay 40% tax on interest from savings, as myself and several of my ex -colleagues all got a final payout/redundancy whereby we were taxed on that at source but never considered what level of tax was being deducted from any savings held.

Hi CH1

GPEL os right. Losses made on rental property can either be offset against other rental profits or carried forward against future rental profits. Unfortunately sideways loss relief is not available for residential lettings, unless it is a qualifying UK furnished holiday let.

As far as higher rate tax payments, bank interest has 20% deducted at source, and the higher rate for savings is 40%. Therefore if you are a higher rate taxpayer you will be required to pay the additional 20%.

Dividends are notionally taxed at 10%, and the higher rate is 32.5%, therefore you would have to pay an additional 22.5% for dividends which fall into higher rate.