Are Redecoration Costs Always Tax Deductable?

kates

Hi. I would really appreciate some advice:

I am about to become a novice landlord as I'm moving in with my partner and plan to rent out my own house (on a longterm basis). I have lived in the house for 12 yrs and am currently redecorating and replacing some of the carpets.

Having looked at the tax advice section, I am confused as to whether I can deduct these costs prior to letting, in view of the house being my home for the past 12 yrs and not a new purchase.

Any advice gratefully received k

I'm not a tax expert, but I believe the answer is no.

The way it works is that costs incurred bringing the property to a lettable condition before it is let, cannot be offset against the monthly income (Revenue).

The cost is viewed as capital and as such, when a property is sold, the cost can be deducted when working out capital gains tax.

However as you currently live there, you may not even be able to deduct it as capital (may not be relevant if you sell within a few years of letting anyhow) , that is a very grey area.

Hi

I am a Chartered Tax Adviser and the answer is as Matthew says - grey.

The question you must ask is whether the property was in a lettable state prior to redecoration. If it was and you are merely making it more presentable then then would be allowable costs against your profits.

However if the property was not in a lettable state then it is likely that the costs would be improvements, however (sorry to disagree Matt) I would allow all costs of improvement - despite whether this was ever your PPR or not. An improvement is an improvement, whether this was/is your PPR or not. An improvement is an allowable deduction against the eventual sale of the property

However as Matt does say, if you sell within three years of the property not being your PPR then the improvements could be irrelevant anyway as the 'profit on sale' would be covered by PPR exemption anyway.