AST agreements

fresh

Hi Guys

I'm a newbie landlord, I was wondering if anybody could suggest the wording of an AST document. I have a bog standard AST. I want to add a paragraph for penalties for non-payment, late payment, reminder fees and finally a clause to pass the costs of a debt collector on to the tenant.

Any help would be appreciated. :P

Hi Fresh

Just wirte a few sentences

ie A late payment fee will be charged at £5 per day for every day cleared funds are not received into LL nominated bank acc

A reminder letter will be sent when payment is 7 days late and everyseven days therafter this will attract an adninistration charge of £20 per letter

Etc etc

Simon

This was one bit of sound advice that simon gave a few months ago that I took on board and have written into our AST's.

This actually 'scares' people into paying if you ask me, once you have brought to their attention WHAT it may cost to NOT!!!

Well done Simon, you converted me, a long time ago with this one, but you haven't 'quite' got me yet!!!

Gareth

"Scares"...........???????

Incentivises is a much more aceptable term ..i feel ...LOL

I tell my tenants quite openly and in a friendly manner that they can pay a late as they like ......it is just going to cost a whole lot more !!!!!!!!!!!!

Hopefully i will never "get" you as our exchanges would not longer be fun, entertaining and explore more ground ...I'm very happy and proud to "be different" and i think you are too !!!!

Just looking at some of my typos ....disgraceful !!! but Hey if my bank receives a cheque that HASN'T got a correction on it ...then they know i didn't write it ............LOL

Simon

Hi Simon

thanks for the feeback, this will deter most working tenants from paying late.