Failing to report a fault and withholding rent

gobicat

I have been renting my flat out for 5 years, privately, no probs.

New tenant moved into newly decorated and maintained flat in april. few weeks in, he sent text message saying leak from water tank. said it had happened on day one but had no time to tell me.

within few days i arranged plumber to replace boiler. week later i went round and checked the boiler. all fine.

tenant had withhold rent 1st May because of this and paid a small fraction of the rent end of may. Tenant was very aggressive throughout this period and accused me of not fixing the boiler. i told him how could i as he only told me 3 weeks into the tenancy.

I sent him letter showing fixed boiler and voicemail message left etc. and to let us know if any further problems.

asked him to set standing order up as agreed for June.

this is the last i heard from the tenant. I have sent letters each fortnight asking if there any reason why he cant pay and let me know, happy to negoiate (thinking he may be struggleing ). Nothing.

August 15th - 3 months in arrears, managed to get hold of him on the phone after 3 months of worry but not wanting to harrass. He was rude and hung up. we called back and he said it was the boiler ( although not as polite as that) and ordered us to fix the flat. wouldnt talk to us or mention rent. simply shouting.

we were shocked. 2 days and a nother plumber went there, could see there was tiny leek but said it must have been going on some time to cause damage , as now flat smells musty and tenant taken up all carpets!!!

whilst there, tenant threatened us and had some big men with him. no mention of rent.

all he says is that we have given him a dogdy flat and havent fixed it. !