Help-They've trashed the place

carolespencer

Can anyone offer any advice (other than what I should have done already-I'm new to letting and never imagined anyone could do so much damage!)

I have just evicted problem tenants who had not been paying and were so abusive and threatening I could not inspect the property. They have smashed basically everything from the front to the back door (and including both these doors), broken the tiles on the kitchen floor, ripped most of them up and left holes in the floor which go down into the foundations, damaged all the laminate flooring through the house and ripped down the wallpaper-which they have replaced by painting with textured masonry paint, oh and did I mention the scorched kitchen units and doors? This is a summary-the damage is about 9 thousand (absolute minimum, with me carrying out the labour) on top of a broken bath at the beginning of the tenancy and a number of other things. Like a fool, although I inspected prior to them moving in I did not take photos or get them to sign anything, although various contractors and a previous prospective tenant who viewed a couple of days before they moved in can all confirm the property was perfect. I've sent a list of damage to their new address and a claim, which they have ignored. What are my chances in court???

That all sounds terrible. I don't know what your chances are in court, but I doubt there is much chance of actually receiving any money even if you did win a court case.

Is it possible to interest the police in criminal damage charges?

Keep a record of everything you spend on repairs. You can claim against your tax bill. If you have made a loss during your tax year you can carry that loss forward to lower your tax in future years (I think).

Pat