how long for baliffs?

kevfallon

Hi everyone,

I have tenants, who have out stayed their welcome, the formal agreement run out in Decmeber of last year. After discussions with my letting agent ( she is not involved yet with this property ) I decided to give them two months extra, all in writing new section 21 etc. time up end of Jan, they have been let down over another property, so I gave them another two weeks, at an extra cost per week. No payments made, thats it, I want them out. They have been informed by letter and phonecall. What if the stay? How can get them out asap, it not about money anymore, its playing fair, any help appreicated.

Kev

• 2 weeks later...

I'm not an expert on evictions, but I would suggest you have been far too generous with these tenants. After they failed to pay rent from December 06, you rewarded them with two months and two weeks extra time rather than request Notice to Leave. Failure to find another property was a good excuse to make you more sympathetic to their cause. Unless you know them well and you are sure to be paid, now is the time to serve "Notice to Leave". If they are still there on the Leave date (usually 2 months after you serve it) then you will have to seek a Possession Order and it will cost you around £200 for the pleasure. Big men in large leather jackets will visit the property and do the "work" once approved. You can then hope you can recover the costs in Court. This process wil be trickier if you don't have a contract.

This website shows things from the tenant's viewpoint but has useful information on what you could do next.

http://england.shelter.org.uk/advice/advice-4007.cfm

Apologies if I am wrong, all this is based on web research - I hope I never have to do this! Talking to your solicitor for advice might be the best option.

Hope this helps

Andy

Hi everyone,