how do i get court order to gain access

heebs

hello all

The neighbour to my rented property has reported to me that the guttering has been removed or fallen and the rain water is causing my brickwork damage.

I have asked the tenant several times to come and check and fix the problem as i need access to the garden to do it...despite being in on every appt..she never alows me in saying she is busy and come back the next day...this has gone on for over 2 months and now she has said not to ask her to come to the property.

How can I get a court order as I have never been in this position before..

I am taking her to the small claims court for arrears of £4800 if she doesnt respind to my letter by the 21 dec...once in court..could i also ask the judge for access to my property as per the contract...or do i have to go through a separate process to get a court order rather than money claim online.

sorry for the question..i am new to this situation and find the people on this site very helpful to us clueless and stressed out LL's

many thanks in advance

:unsure:

Hello Heebs,

Still battling on with this nasty one? Well, it is not long 'til the court date so I would hang on and ask the judge for access to the garden and tell of missed appointments, damage etc adding to your misery. - take photos of missing gutter and damage if poss and show at the court.

Surely any sensible judge would allow you access? I won't answer that one myself as I don't have very good experiences with the courts.

Failing that take a police person to the site as protection against your tenants violent behaviour as you only want to get into the garden with a roofer person for a legitimate repair.

Let us know result of court case but I bet they allow her to remain well into 2010 - I got caught out trying to evict once at Christmas. It was like being in a Dicken's novel.

Best of luck

Mortitia