Electrical certificates

burremr

Hi All, in the process of selling let A and one of the sticking points from purchasers solicitors was the lack of an Electrical Installation Certificate for some £300 of kitchen socket works carried out in 2015. The LA has not been able to obtain the retrospective documentation from a former contractor, or cant be arsed!

Having learnt my lesson I have now requested the certificate for some works carried out (bathroom extractor) on let B only to receive the following response from the LA:

No certification is required for the installation of an extractor fan, in electric terms an extractor fan is very minor works. We could provide you with a minor works certificate if required but this isn't something we'd normally do for this.

Is the LA stringing me along or should all electrical works, however small, be certificated?

I think your LA are wrong.

I am not an electrician but am 99% certain that ANY electrical installation work in the kitchen, bathroom or outside of the property needs a part P certificate if carried out since 2007.

You could offer to pay for an independant electrical inspection....could cost around £500..... in order to satisfy the buyers.

Works that are replacement or repairs aren't notifiable works, additional installations are. Kitchens and especially bathrooms get extra consideration.

The only time non inspection becomes an issue is if there is an incident and the HSE are called in, or come sale time when the surveyor or solicitor might ask for certificates for recent works.

The general and easy route is to use an NIC registered sparky. He can, obviously, do the work, but as local councils need a registered sparky to comply with their requirements, he can deal with them also. There are 3 organisations that should comply but, when I looked into this, the NIC were considered the ones.