Advice on Starting out

ba72

Dear Landlords,

I am a possible beginner to renting and I have a couple of questions, I hope you can help,

(1)

I am thinking of investing about £140,000 in central scotland . I think I could maybe get 2, two bedroom flats for this give or take £5000. I have been juggeling around this idea for a while now and not sure what to do.

Is it a good advantage that I can pay theses 2 flats practicaly outright and that I dont need to worry about something called yeild I see a lot of posts talking about. and that I still also have a safe very well paid job.

(2)

If I done the above what is the situation on tax, do I have to pay any on the monies I might take in. if so what percent would I pay on the rents assuming I did not have mortgages, And also do many landlords not declare it.

(3) Do you as landlords need to have certain standards as to safetey, ie do you need to have regular checks on gas appliances, do you need to have fire extinguishers ect, ect.

Any advice would be much appreciated

Hi!

Re TAX:

You pay tax based on your net rental profits - ie. your rental income, less allowable expenses.

The rate of tax depends on your other earnings, but assuming you have some form of income you would normally pay either 22% or 40%.