Bad Tenant Register

Paulhar

Hi All,

The subject of setting up a bad tenant register keeps getting rejected by people saying it is against the law, however, I fail to see the difference between this and what the credit reference agencies do. Basically any tenant paying rent monthly is in a very similar position to anyone buying something on credit - failure to keep up the payments results in civil action.

I am no lawyer but I have looked into the Data Protection Act and I cannot see the problem. One paragraph will need to be added to new tenancy agreements to let the tenant know that their details will be recorded on the register and they will sign the agreement to consent to this (the same way a credit buyer consents on a credit agreement). The other requirements of the DPA are quite easy to satisfy, ie that the data is secure, that tenants have the right to challenge and change their information etc.

There is also another issue whereby publicly revealing specific information about a bad tenant might be considered defamation of character. This could be overcome by giving a tenant a rating (like a credit rating) of 1-100 where 100 is the perfect tenant and 1 is a 'don't touch them'. So when a tenant applies for a let the landlord will search the register and will not hear any details about the tenant's history, he will just be given a number and then it is up to him to decide whether to proceed or not.

It could work both ways with landlords also having their information held in the same way giving tenants the ability to know whether or not their prospective landlord is any good.

The eventual outcome of all this would surely be to raise standards on both sides by giving both landlords and tenants an incentive to behave well.

I would welcome comments from people with legal training about this. The number of posts on this forum from landlords who have suffered huge losses at the hands of bad tenants clearly shows that something like this needs to be done.