Hoarder

Acura

Morning!

Has anyone had any experience of a hoarder? 

I’ve got one apparently. Had 3 agents to the house last week for valuations and two mentioned how they couldn’t even get into 2 rooms, and the rest were almost as bad. 

Typically both those agents were not my management agents! Every house inspection mentioned stuff, just not huge volumes or hoarding. 

Going to be selling up so this doesn’t bode well for viewings. Might be selling to the company next door, and they are happy to keep the tenant, but if they don’t want to proceed I need to give this guy notice before viewings. 

I have no personal experience of hoarders. My only information is that obtained from numerous tv programmes over the last 3 years that have specifically covered hoarders.

What I learnt from this is that they are notoriously difficult to remove from your property. All the programmes showed eviction going the full term to bailiffs or high court enforcement. Even then they don't often take all of their stuff.

Good luck, you might need it.

Thanks RL!

I've not had experience other than TV programmes too, and the old lady opposite our house apparently was a hoarder. We've just returned to the UK from our stint overseas and we recently saw the house being emptied into skips and flatbeds, so we're imagining she's died. The lady who lived next door moved away as she was petrified of a fire.

Anyhow, I wish I'd gone myself now to have seen the extent of all his stuff as he wouldn't allow the agents to take pictures.

Going to need the good luck I reckon!

I should have said that with tv documentary programmes I readily accept that the producers have to structure the content to be entertaining. To achieve that I expect them to cherry pick those aspects of hoarders which will have the biggest impact on the viewing audience.