Tenant has died

kerbut

Unfortunately one of our tenants died yesterday , it is something I have not had to deal with before , he was a single gent of 62 and his very active 85 year old mother is dealing with things. His rent is paid up to the 17 th of April and she has indicated she will not be able to get everything cleared by then , so I will let her have another month and deduct it from his deposit , is it ok legally to do this or is  his deposit part of his estate ? , if so I must return it and charge his mother until the property is cleared . Is this the correct way to do it ?

Fortunately this is something very few of us have to deal with and I have no direct experience.

I assume you have protected the deposit in one of the approved schemes and had issued the prescribed information ?

I'm afraid what you are planning to do is not allowed. There are very specific rules about tenancies when someone dies.

Check out this for details :

www.landlordlawblog.co.uk/2014/05/21/what-happens-to-a-tenancy-when-the-tenant-dies/

Thanks for the link RL,Yes, Deposit protected , and re-protected after 6 months and PI given at time of signing Tenancy agreement (  I get tenants to pay deposit a couple of days before signing agreement so we can do all the paperwork in one go ) I have spoken with the mother this afternoon and we have agreed that I will take April /May out of the deposit and she will have the property empty when we return from a month in Spain mid May.

Edit to add : I think I am doing it the way the final paragraph of the blog says :

In conclusion

I suspect in most cases, the landlord just takes the property back, in agreement with the tenants family.  In most cases this will be the most sensible way to proceed.

My comments: