Putting rent up. Tenant has mental health issues

pat888

I have been renting a flat to this tenant for about 25 years. His rent is paid to me directly by housing benefit. It's a few years since I last increased the rent. The last time I issued a new short term tenancy agreement, which will now have expired. I assume he is now on a periodic tenancy. 

If I explain he will understand that I'm putting the rent up and it won't concern him as housing benefit will cover the increase. The problem I have is his mental health has deteriorated over the years and I don't know how I can get his signature witnessed.

Do I have to issue a new tenancy agreement to increase the rent. Is there another way that does't involve getting his signature witnessed.

I have a good relationship with this tenant but he is an alcoholic with very poor short term memory. If I ask him to get it witnessed he won't remember.

How much notice do I have to give? The last time I increased the rent the housing benefit would only allow an increase in April.

Regards

Pat

Issue a section 13, I would send a copy direct to HB with relevant HB numbers referenced .

A months notice is required,

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1988/50/section/13

Unless you have a chat and agree otherwise regarding dates (Section 4a).

To confuse I have read much more complicated information on the net recently that states rent can only be collected on the 1st day of a period of tenancy following a rent increase. The legislation in the link doesn't seem to support that satement, any thoughts Grampa?

To explain, my rents are all payable on the 20th to be cleared in my accounts ready for mortgage payments the following 1st.

In practice the slow banks and late payers are often later than the 20th but by the 26th / 27th It becomes reasonable to chase 'em up for my dosh.

All my periodic periods are a complete calander month.