£600 termination admin fee from letting agent! Any advice?

kevinf

I've been using Countrywide as a letting agent for 3 years or more, providing full management for a studio flat, with them taking £50 per month from the rent. Having given 2 months' notice (I'm switching to another agent), they're charging £600 + VAT in termination fees! £50 I could understand, but £600 seems ridiculous. Their contract has a termination clause that makes it sound as if £600 in all must have accrued over the duration of the let, e.g. at £50 per month (or the difference made up if terminating after a few months). I can't see any justification for £600 termination fee so can't imagine anyone would read the contract that way. But of course, since they're collecting the rent from the tenant, they're taking the money whether I like it or not. Any advice on what I can do to avoid what seems to be nothing short of extortion?! Any info gratefully received. More details at http://goo.gl/85TxzA

What can you do ?

1. Read & fully understand the terms & conditions of the contract between you & the lettings agent.

2. Don't enter into an agreement unless you understand it & want to be bound by it.

3. Always consider the 'what if' scenarios that might result in termination of that contract.

4. TRY to understand how the lettings agent business operates and how they make their profits.

£600 sounds entirely reasonable to me for 1 years full management.