Buy to let (bubble)

Nugget

I was contemplating buying a house to let as an alternative to a pension, but fear that if interest rates continue to rise (which is probable in November) then the buy-to-let bubble may soon burst, as the guys that got in when house prices were low will run for the door at the same time, causing a stampede to sell, thus causing a long gradual crash in house prices. Is an interest only mortgage is even riskier in this possible situation, as this type of mortgage is more of a gamble on house prices than a repayment mortgage.

Just wondered what you guys thought, would be interested to hear your opinions

I am an amateur at this but for what its worth I have chosen an interest only mortgage as I am not particularly bothered about paying off my property in its whole at the end of the term. I am gambling on my assuumption that my flat will be worth more than I paid for it by the time I come to sell. This also makes sense for tax reasons, not just CGT but also income tax paid on the monthly rent as only the interest part of the mortgage payment is tax deductible.

Very sensible points nugget, most people on the forum are much more bullish than yourself.

I have two mortgaged houses, the first one I was lucky enough to buy 10 years ago, the second one is a buy-to-let which I have had for just over a year now. Both are repayment mortgages.

I bought the buy-to-let a year ago, I put down over £30k as a deposit.

The difference between my rent and mortgage is +£103 a month. However, the property was empty for 5 weeks b4 I could get a suitable tenant in, therefore a mortgage payment was taken without reimbursement. The insurance is £22 a month. Plus there is also the one off costs of Solicitors, a survey and in my case stamp duty. Plus, if I really open my eyes there is the loss of interest on the £30k deposit to consider. Then there's the hassle of chasing rent (again in my case) because I didn't use a letting agent due to mounting costs.